JCNA Slalom Committee 2016 Report 1-30-17

During the 2016 Slalom season fifteen sanctioned events were held by twelve different Clubs. There were 124 JCNA Member entrants for an average of over eight Member entrants per event. Only those entrants with JCNA Numbers are shown on the Results pages and in the Standings. Many non-JCNA members also competed with diverse types of cars which add interest (and revenues). Non JCNA Member entrants pay an additional \$5 fee which goes to the insurance company. All non-Jaguars run in Class Z.

Special Awards for 2016:

Fastest Man: Ian Crawford SE09 - 40.958 seconds in Class L - 1971 E-Type Fastest Women: Julie Baily NW61 - 45.519 seconds in Class D – 1969 E-Type

The Committee has not proposed changes to the text of the Slalom Rules for 2017. For the 2016 Slalom season newly introduced models XE and F-pace were added to the existing Class M.

The Slalom Committee determined that a comprehensive revision of the Slalom Class structure was in order. Submitted with this Report is the Slalom Committee's proposed revision for 2017 driven by function and performance rather than appearance or nomenclature. It is designed to be adaptable to the inclusion of new Jaguar models without the need for creating additional Classes. If a truly unique new model (hybrid or all electric) were to be created then we will have the option of inserting it into one of the Classes currently listed as (omitted). The total number of Classes was reduced by one.

We have two new Members of the Slalom Committee: Ian Crawford representing the SE Region and Terry Sturgeon representing the NW Region. Not by coincidence, they are the 1st and 2nd fastest men of the year for 2016.

A goal of the Slalom Committee for 2017 will be to expand the JCNA Slalom Program with more Clubs, with more events, and with more participants at each event.

Tom Wright Slalom Committee Chair