Jaguar Service Book states use 'Genuine Girling Crimson Hydraulic Fluid' or "Lockheed Orange Hydraulic Fluid' What can I use in newly rebuilt system? Some have suggested Castrol Green Mineral Fluid others say no use insread DOT 4? Would silicone brake fluid in this new brake syatem?
Thanks

Submitted by bonnettoboot@e… on Sun, 11/17/2013 - 23:16

Edited on 2013-11-17 23:20:40
Phillip, I have been using silicon for over 30 years and have used it in every kind of vehicle but mostly Rolls/Bentley and Jaguar. I have never heard of a brake hose collapsing due to silicon or mineral, Just two weeks ago we had a collapsed hose on a 140 so we changed all three. The vast majority off British cars used dot 4 NOT dot 3, jaguar was always 4. I do stock dot 3 for use in American cars most of which use dot 3. The mineral oil has a similiar viscosity to silicon -perhaps someone can verify- and many cars are now using it. I started using it on Rolls Royce many years ago in place of dot 4, Interestingly, Citroen, who patented the Rolls Royce accumalator brake system used mineral oil. In my military experience, mostly armoured vehicles- from the 50's- mineral oil was used in the accumalator systems. One more benefit of the Silicon is the fact that it is lubricant, traditional brake fluid IS NOT. These days, if we get a classic which has the old fluid we suggest converting to silicon and many times we just bleed out the system and stop when the silicon comes out clean. We also put a notice on the reservoir in case the car gets into somewhen elses hands.

Submitted by NE48-24099 on Sun, 11/17/2013 - 20:25

Curt, after reading Williams comment about its viscosity, and Georges comment about ABS, I can now understand why it is not used in new production. Since all cars nowadays come equipped with ABS pulsating brakes, the silicone would have a slightly slower reaction time. If I can recall, my 1995 XJR had mineral fluid, and never had a problem in the 15 years that I owned it.